Colour Coded: Black

I think most people are frightened at the thought of using black in their home.  Whilst it’s fantastic for slimming out the physical form – will it do this to my room?  Make it look smaller?  When we are constantly trying to bring light & space to an interior doesn’t black defeat the purpose?  Not if it’s done well.  I think it can add a dramatic, intense effect and a dark charcoal is just the thing if you are loving the industrial look.  Not too mention I imagine it wears really well especially if you have rugrats around trying to ruin the place.  I’ll admit I don’t have a lot of ebony accents in my home but I love the uses of it below and you know what they say, once you go black….

4 thoughts on “Colour Coded: Black

  1. Todd says:

    I absolutely love the kitchen in the top left – the contrast of the light wood with the dark tile. I think black-washed walls look amazing but……. I am going to say that chalkboard paint (and the concept of a chalkboard for ease of use) is a) becoming too common and b) not practical long-term! I think from a styling perspective, black looks amaaaaazing!

  2. Ellie says:

    I absolutely love that Todd has something to say. This is amaaaazing! And Shan while I am here – I am very glad you are making me a scrapbook for my future abode, when I am ready I shall download your entire blog for inspiration x

Leave a Reply

